Member's Login

Team SMB Triumphs In 2014 Orchard Intraclub Matches


The fifth edition of The Orchard’s annual Intraclub Matches, fast becoming even more popular each year, recently crowned as champions a lively, enthusiastic, and irrepressible group who go by the initials SMB – “Samahang Mangiinom na Bankero “, (or, more formally – The Association of Thirsty Bankers).

Team SMB 061014TEAM SMB – Champions, 2014 The Orchard IntraClub Team Championships
Front Row – Bombi Dominguez, George Gordon, Gerone Jimenez (Asst Captain),
Lance Martinez, Aurelio Aquino, Chucho Martinez
Standing – Christian Ruste, Coco Martin, Gino Ng, Nico Co, Ogie Caja, Ivan Ferreras,
Team Captain Jerry Tan, Karim yu, Charlie Tan, Patrick King, Niko Santiano, & Nap Marigomen

Fittingly, the souvenirs trophies for this year’s victors will be crystal beer mugs with commemorative etchings and their respective names.

The IntraClubs Matches feature ten teams of eager and ardent members at The Orchard composed of thirty players each. The elimination phase pitted each of the teams against all the others in a 9 round series, with 5 two-man sides in each weekend match, with a maximum combined handicap of 21 for each pair. After the round robin eliminations for the teams, the top 4 teams advanced to the knock-out finals. Those four teams this year featured the first three place winners, plus the Perry’s Group rounding out the finalists.

Team Borj 061014BORJ TEAM – Runner Up
From Left – Jocson Gan, Paul Gruba, Gregg Sebastian, David Astejada, Herbert Magsino,
Henry So, Eric Borromeo (Asst Captain), Willy Tee Ten, Fred Salonga,
Raymund Sangil, Steven Uy, Vince Bautista, Mike Aquino and his son, Ding Tee,
Dr Ed Abesamis, Bobby Uy, Mario Pangan, George Elazegui, Arnel Paras

The Perry’s Group actually came out as the highest pointers in the elimination round, garnering a total of 29 points. Team SMB was second with 28.5, and the Tee Jots were tied with Team Borj with 25.5 apiece.

Teejots 061014TEAM TEE JOTS – Third Place
From Left – Guilbert Purcia Sr, Guilbert Purcia IV, Raffy Macalaguim, Alex Facunda,
Anthony Tan, Atty. Bien Cerbo, Art Zuniega, Dondi Primicias ( Team Captain ),
Raymund Vasquez, & Alex Dy (Asst. Captain)

The seven other teams, which all contributed to a continuous run of fun and exciting weekends at The Orchard from February to May, included Astig, ATM, Team Bites, Globe Maels, Perry’s Group, Samurai, Swingers.

The Match Series have become a must-join affair for regular members, giving everyone a real taste of what competitive experience team tournament golf is like, but under “friendly” pressure. Participants have expressed great appreciation for getting exposed to formal rules of the game, as well as time constraints on their pace of play, and opportunities to live up to team expectations.

From the reception of the player participants, it looks like next year’s edition will even be bigger and better!